Frequently asked questions

Non-accredited training is training that does not lead to nationally recognised certification. NAIT Non-accredited courses are certification course or called “vendor certification” which are usually short courses of 1-5 days prescribed by industry e.g. Microsoft, Cisco, CompTIA certification. These courses are not part of nationally recognized training and they are not VET courses which means students will not get any credit transfer on basis of these certification courses at other institutes and student will not get any nationally recognized certification.
These courses are separate from the courses offered to Vocational Education and Training (VET) students.

VET courses are courses registered on National training register which are registered by ASQA on NAIT’s scope. These courses are part of nationally recognized training and student will get national recognized qualification /AQF certifications if completed successfully.

Please refer National training register website for course which are registered as VET courses

These are programs of training leading to vocational qualifications and credentials that are recognised across Australia delivered by registered training organisations (RTOs). They include:
• industry training package qualifications and units of competency as listed on the national register,
(TGA), or
• courses that have been accredited by a vocational education and training (VET) regulator, which includes:
− Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA)
− Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority
− Western Australia’s Training Accreditation Council.

Only Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) can deliver nationally recognized training and issue nationally recognized qualifications or statements of attainment

Non-accredited courses are certification course or called “vendor certification” which are usually short courses of 1-2 days prescribed by industry e.g. Microsoft certification. These courses are not part of Nationally recognized training and they are not VET courses.

Non-accredited course are entirely separate courses and they have separate fee structure.
Fee paid by students is only for VET course they are intending to study. e.g. Fee paid to Diploma of Information Technology only covers Diploma of Information Technology, it doesn’t entitle students entry and fee to any other course or certification.

Please enquire with NAIT administration for fee for non-accredited courses.

NAIT doesn’t have any delivery arrangement for VET courses with any other organization e.g. Microsoft, CISCO etc. All VET courses for NAIT students are delivered by National Australian Institute of Technology. is the national register for training in Australia and contains the authoritative information about Registered Training Organisations (RTOs), Nationally Recognized Training (NRT), and the approved scope of each RTOs to deliver NRT as required in national and jurisdictional legislation within Australia.
All VET courses delivered by NAIT are listed on National training register
Students are encouraged to visit nationally training register for more information about course registered on NAIT scope by visiting following link: (refer to tab- Accredited qualifications)
• Currently NAIT is delivering 6 courses to domestic/ International students which includes

ICT40118 – Certificate IV in Information Technology
ICT60215 Advanced Diploma of Network Security
ICT50118 Diploma of Information Technology
BSB51918 Diploma of leadership and management
BSB61015 Advanced Diploma of Leadership and Management
BSB80615 Graduate Diploma of Management (Learning)

• All prospective students are required to enquire separately about Non-accredited training and short course separately and must make an inquiry about fees and course length involved with NAIT administration staff.
• Students must not misunderstand non-accredited training to delivered automatically or vice versa in relation to nationally recognized training and VET courses offered by NAIT

You must contact student administration if you need any further clarification on non-accredited training.